The triggers that cause our faces to flare-up

424521_171517633021211_164931044_n

Flare-ups for Rosacea can be different for each person. I know one person that if he eats peanuts he flares up. My Grandmother who barely goes out in the sun has a flare-up with spicy foods. My flare-ups, I found out via the elimination diet, are sunflower seeds, corn nuts, spicy foods, alcohol, and harmful sugars (white sugar, artificial sugars, and all those sugar additives with weird names). I have this funny feeling that humidity will be another trigger of mine.

Here is a list of the most common triggers for Rosacea sufferers:

  • Weather:
    • Sun, strong winds, cold, heat, humidity
  • Foods:
    • Liver, yogurt, sour cream, cheese, chocolate, vanilla, soy sauce, yeast extract, vinegar, eggplant, avocados, spinach, lima beans, navy beans, peas, citrus fruits, tomatoes, bananas, red plums, raisins, and figs, spicy foods, thermally hot foods, foods high in histamine, and sugar.
  • Beverages:
    • Alcohol (red wine, beer, bourbon, vodka, etc…), hot drinks, hot chocolate, hot coffee, caffeinated drinks and hot teas.
  • Inside your head influences:
    • Stress and Anxiety.
  • Physical
    • Exercise, Running, full body workouts, getting overheated, and jobs that entail lifting and loading.
  • THE SUN

I looked at this list and noticed that there was everything I loved to eat or do. I was devastated because I didn’t want to give up drinking. I didn’t want to give up ANYTHING. I just wanted to be pretty again without giving up vodka and tonic or apple cider vinegar, or figs, or red wine, or running, or exercise. I was at a lost because the medication out there for us that suffer is horrible for our bodies in the long run. The medication will kill our entire gut flora which will lead to even more dangerous diseases to deal with.

I had this moment of clarity. I didn’t want to take over the counter medication. I didn’t want to spend loads of my hard earned cash on skin care routines. I wanted to heal myself naturally. I have done this for the last few years. If I can cure myself out of a common cold then I can cure myself out of the common disease of Rosacea.

I mean how hard could it be?

How hard was it for you?

Did you figure out your triggers? If so how did you go about finding them out?

Leave a Reply

