Part One of Kicking Rosacea in the Butt

Heart of fruits and vegetables
Heart of fruits and vegetables

Part 1:

This blog is taking me forever to post only because I want to make sure the words that are read are perfect. So I hit the writer’s wall and started to chop away with my pencil but instead of getting somewhere I went nowhere fast. I started to build a wall instead of demolishing it. Then I felt bad for not writing the blog when I told you I would. Then I felt really bad for not writing at all. Then… you get the picture. I am back at it today with a fever to finish what I had started. I won’t leave you hanging. This might be a little rough and if you feel I missed some important parts please comment below or message me here: surpriseby.alick@gmail.com. Thanks!

The Elimination Diet:

It all started with a red swollen face that burned, itched, moved, and birthed till zit like creatures. I was grossed out, sad, in pain, and confused. WE HAVE ALL BEEN THERE! I was desperate to find a cure or to at least heal my face. I began to research Rosacea type 2. Did you know I found two books on the subject of Rosacea? I did find a lot of information via blogs and websites on the subject as well. I took my research and pieced it all together to form what I like to call Kicking Rosacea in the Butt. I have to give a shout out to one of the ladies that follow my Instagram account (LadyCandySparks) for hash tagging that phrase. THANK YOU!

After about 3 days of research (I know that doesn’t sound like a lot of time but I was desperate to have my face back), I narrowed down my Kicking Rosacea in the Butt Diet otherwise known as The Elimination Diet. This diet was performed on my friends’ kids because they were allergic to a food that she didn’t know. She gave her children a bland diet and then slowly added foods back into their diet which allowed her to find out what her children were exactly allergic to. This is the friend that looked at me and stated that my face looked like it was having an allergic reaction to something. She suggested this diet.

I basically combined rosacea known triggers, alkaline diet, and an anti-inflammation diet together to create the Kicking Rosacea in the Butt Diet.

I eliminated:

  • Alcohol
  • Spicy foods
  • Hot drinks
  • Caffeine (which I am allergic to)
  • Dairy foods
  • Cured meats
  • All meats except seafood
  • Exercise (it killed me)
  • Eggs
  • Grains (except quinoa)
  • Nuts
  • Tomatoes
  • Citrus
  • Beans
  • Sugars
  • Carbonated soft drinks
  • Cereals
  • Tobacco
  • Artificial sweeteners

I looked at this list and I almost cried. I didn’t know if there was anything left for me to actually eat. Before my stress levels zoomed up to the highest percentage, I allowed myself to breathe a long breath in and then a long breath out. I gathered myself and told myself, “I can do this!”

Stay tuned part two is just around the corner!

Have you ever tried an Elimination Diet for anything?

5 thoughts on “Part One of Kicking Rosacea in the Butt

  1. Hi Candy,

    I am following your Instagram since some weeks now (THANKS :)) and started recently my version of elimination diet.

    I read your list and realised that my food still includes grains, nuts, beans, and cereals.

    You also mentioned for example avocado as one of the common triggers – what category goes that into?

    I was wondering about your advice. On one hand I am thinking about continuing like this and seeing if it will in the end turn out well (even in your case non of these – ok apart from the sunflower seeds – turned out to be a problem)… but another part of me tells me to rather do it once and thoroughly… otherwise I might do all the hard work and still not find all my triggers…

    What do you think?

    I mean right now I feel I can at least have oatmeal for breakfast, a sandwich, bread (I am from Europe, no diary and sugar inside), I grab a handful of nuts…, eat beans or lentils… but what will remain WITHOUT THESE??? Is rice also a grain? I suppose…

    How long did you take the diet in the end???

    Also I was about to start probiotics to support my rosacea treatment, but like you mentioned they contain parts related to diary… So also a no go?

    What do you think?

    Sorry for so many questions 🙂

    Thanks, Veronika

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I found a lot of the triggers on rosacea.org. I also tried to list foods that would cause inflammation as well. The Avocado came from the list on rosacea.org. I also got rid of nuts because I had a gentlemen on my instagram tell me that his flare-up was peanuts. (I really didn’t want this but when I did the elimination diet I cut out all nuts just in case) I actually don’t eat cereal anymore. I had a green smoothie for breakfast, snack, and lunch. Then at dinner I would make something or have a salad with olive oil dressing (I know lame). The only grain I consumed was quinoa, because it contains high amounts of protein and omega’s. I also chose to eat seafood for the same reason’s as quinoa. Both could have been a trigger for me but I took a chance. I suggest doing it once. It is a pain in the butt to not find all the possible triggers. Also once your face heals it is so much easier to figure out the triggers. The bread I eat has no dairy or sugars. I am jealous that your country doesn’t add those ingredients!! I did the diet for a month. By week 4 my face was looking like my normal before rosacea face with a few bumps here and there. It was so worth it. It’s funny on the rosacea.org website they state to not eat fermented foods but that probiotics are great for rosacea. I actually didn’t eat any ferment foods till about a year later. My face did react but it was all the toxins coming out of my body. Now I can eat it without a reaction and my gut is happy! You are on the right path. The thing is the diet should be suited for you. I was personally eating banana’s and eggs which can either be a flare-up or cause inflammation. (never did I eat them together unless it was in a green smoothie ). It’s the chance we take. If you need the oatmeal then buy the organic oatmeal. It the simple steps that can make a big difference. I made a lot of shrimp and salmon for dinner with a salad or quinoa salad. I mean it doesn’t seem like a lot of food but in the end it was! I made also a bunch of baked salmon muffins that was meal prepped and eaten at anytime. I used coconut flour for the binder, eggs, and salmon. It was divine! I hope this helps and please ask more questions!

      Like

  2. Thank you for the speedy reply Candy.

    I guess it is a bit like you describe – a personal risk taking. For everyone it is different what they are willing to leave out and what not. I am holding on now to avocados and bananas and nuts… but should the progress be slow, I might take those out as well.

    Why did you cut the chicken and red meat? (you mentioned it somewhere), and how long did the reintegration phase last?

    Like I wrote on your instagram – my face is already better after 7 days. Its nowhere near healed, but the bumps are in healing phase, no new ones in the last three days. And the redness IS better too, but I still look awful.

    What is a STRONG trigger for me is the eggs. I was never motivated enough to stop eating them though. OK, I stopped having ham & eggs or scrambled eggs for breakfast, but in cakes, fresh pasta, or similar I was not able to resist. Several weeks ago my face did hurt so much I decided that’s it! It is not easy, we even had today a bit or an argument with my husband, since my diet influences him and my two kids (I do not mind cooking for myself in addition, but of course the atmosphere at the table is different, the I eat something else… but he has to accept that for a couple of weeks now).

    Do you use any special cosmetics, or ONLY your natural remedies?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The reason I took out meats except seafood was because it is on the Alkaline’s diet no-no list. I was looking at the Alkaline diet because certain foods cause more acid to produce in the body which can cause inflammation. I was treating my skin as one big inflamed nightmare. Also rosacea.org list’s all cured meats as well (funny most of those cured meats are not my friends now-a-days). I think beef is the worst meat to eat even though it is high in iron, it is the least alkaline. Make a choice.

    I also ate a lot of new foods which in the end helped heal my face. It was a different way of eating and it felt amazing. Co-workers would tell me, “What is left to eat?” I would inform them there was a lot of foods left to eat. We just have to be creative with it.

    It’s hard to make this change with your family involved. Just let them know that you are making this change to benefit your healing process of your face. Explain why this is important to you. This may help them understand what is going on. I warned my household that I was going through this. They were okay with it.

    Giving up something that you have loved or ate most of your life is hard. Is it worth it? YES! 100% it is worth it. If I have one sip of alcohol I flare-up. It’s bad. It was worth giving it up just to have a healed face. I feel you!

    Reintegration phase can be fast or slow. I added one new food back into my diet a day. Sometimes it was two. I did it this slow so I can pin point the foods that cause my skin to flare-up. At this point your face is healed and you will be able to see the effects of other foods on your skin within hours, a day, or the next day. Sunflower seeds were the hardest for me to figure out. It was until I ate almost a whole bag of them that my face was red and on fire. I looked at the bag with sad eyes and gave them away.

    When you are asking about cosmetics are you talking about makeup or skin routine? The only makeup I use is on my eyes. I rarely use makeup on my face unless I am cos-playing. I really haven’t mastered what makeup works on my face and sometimes I get a burning sensation or a new bump from makeup on my face. Grrr.

    I would state that 65% of my skin routine is handmade and natural. The other 35% is bought online. I need a great eye moisturizer and I was able to find one that even helps me look younger! WOO HOO. I also buy my own facial moisturizer. I normally make my own products if the product I was using jumped in it’s price range. I hate that. I don’t think I should be spending $30-$100 dollars on one product for my skin.

    Hopefully this helps out. I am glad that you are seeing results and I wish you well on your journey. You just took the hardest step of your rosacea life but it is worth it in the end. You go this!

    Candy

    Like

Leave a Reply

