Day One:

The elimination diet is a hard process to go through alone. Believe me, I did that once years ago. This diet will change your life. It will help you figure out the triggers that cause your rosacea to flare-up. This diet is also a lifestyle change. Once the triggers are found then you have two choices:

  1. Continue eating the trigger foods
  2. Change your life around the foods that are not trigger causing foods.

I choose the later. It has been the best decision of my life. I actually don’t hate rosacea. I also don’t think that this skin disease ‘sucks’. Instead I found it to be a part of me. Since I am amazing, then rosacea is just another amazing part of me.

I decided that after spring semester of college, that I would go on the elimination diet. Don’t worry my skin didn’t worsen. I just want to be able to provide those, that have decided to partake in the elimination diet, some recipes to help them along their path.

Please feel free to question my food choices. Question my recipes. It is fine with me.

Day one:

Breakfast and (early dinner) Smoothie:

Lady Rosacea’s Apple Ginger Green Smoothie

IMG_6903

Ingredients:

1 Banana

2 Apples

1 1/2 cup of Kale

3/4 cup of carrots

1 chunk of ginger

Filter Water

1 tablespoon Chia Seeds

Honey (optional)

 

Preparation:  Chop up banana, apples (remember to throw away the seeds into the compost), kale, carrots, and ginger. Place the chopped ingredients into the blender. Then add water to the 7 line on the Vitamix or just to above the fruit/veggie line. Add honey. Add Chia Seeds. Then blend on high for 30 seconds or until smooth. Pour into a container for drinking and enjoy.

IMG_6908

Notes: Honey is optional. I know not that many people have drank green smoothies. This can be a hard switch from processed gross foods to something this clean for your body. I suggest honey because I haven’t had a reaction to it and because it is good for the body.

 

P.S. I totally drank my Dinner around 3pm today. I was starving. Grr. I am detoxing already.

 

Lunch and Dinner(ish):

 

Lady Rosacea’s Coconut Turmeric Shrimp

 

Ingredients:

1 1/2 tablespoons of coconut flour

2 tablespoons of coconut oil

2 teaspoon turmeric powder

2 teaspoons black pepper

salt for flavor

A bag of Wild Caught Shrimp

IMG_6912

Preparation: De-shell the shrimp. Place the de-shelled shrimp into a bowl. Place large skillet on the stove. Add 2 tablespoons of coconut oil. While the coconut oil is melting add spices (coconut flour, turmeric powder, black pepper, and salt) to the bowl of shrimp. Shake the Shrimp in the bowl to help coat the shrimp with the spices. Place the shrimp into the warm skillet. Cook for about 5 to 10 minutes. Until both sides of the shrimp are pink.

IMG_6917

Notes: The shrimp can be placed on a salad to give it more flavor or on a bed of quinoa. Today I ate it on a bed of spinach and later I just popped them into my mouth cold. It was delicious.

 

Luckily, after I ate the shrimp for dinner, I started to roast some vegetables. I was able to snack on these roasted veggies throughout the cooking process. I love to meal prep my meals. This allows me to grab and go. It allows for options when you are starving from detoxing to eat more healthier choices then grabbing something off of the elimination diets no-no list. Roasting veggies are quite easy too!

 

I hope this helps for those on their first day or their 10th day. I will be posting recipes as often as I can. You may special request a recipe as well. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

